Red flags? Run, baby run… Part 2

In reality, when one loves for real, they lack the willpower to pull the plug on a relationship that already feels dead. One keeps holding on, tolerating all the pain, in the hope that the relationship will work out somehow. If experience has taught me anything, it’s that a failed relationship is just that; a failed relationship. Most of the time our instincts warn us, but we choose to ignore them.

I’ll keep saying it over and over again; sometimes it’s better to walk out than hold on to a relationship that’s already dead. The consequences are just not worth it. For instance, the friend of my friend’s sister is only twenty six years old. That’s too young to be going through marital hell. She knows her husband cheats on her but she doesn’t seem to find that an issue, and why you ask? Because she loves him.

These past few days alone, I’ve witnessed mom going through untold hell. Dad’s only getting meaner with each passing day. He’s already said he won’t be paying my sister’s school fee and mine. He doesn’t seem to care that I’ve only two semesters of law school to go. So now I’m putting all my faith in God. Only He knows why all things are happening this way.

One of my greatest consolations is that my big sister finished her masters degree and she managed to do it without dad’s help. So maybe after all, we won’t need his help either. I live for the day we’ll be freed from his imposed dominance. For instance, I’m unable to point out when he errs because he holds my school fee over my head, so if I openly disagree with him he threatens to cut me off.

Nowadays I avoid him like a plague because I won’t feel the need to lash back if I don’t hear or see him doing irksome things; and as it is, that’s who he is. Unfortunately, he still gets under my skin because he treats everyone else with utter disregard for their well-being. I’m pretty sure I hate him, but I’m constantly asking God to grant me the grace not let hate corrupt my soul.

My sister tried talking to him the other day after he publicly threatened to call some young men to beat mom up, and that was after he’d almost run her over. I knew he has a dark soul, but deep down I hoped he had changed. This wouldn’t be the first time he hit her in public, but the last time that happened was about a decade ago. My small sister is still traumatised by the events of that day.

One thing I’m pretty sure of is that if mom could go back in time, she’d make different choices. Lately she’s been saying constantly that there were red flags all around her when she and dad started going out; but she was a young naïve woman, who actually believed love conquers all. Apparently, it doesn’t always. In my humble opinion, love only triumphs when both parties in the relationship are willing to fight for their love.

Yesterday when we were leaving for church in the morning, dad was getting home after spending the night out drinking. He even had the audacity to ridicule us. According to him, God’s punishing us while He’s blessing Him. On a bad day, that might have crushed my spirits; because on the face of it, that’s how I’d interpret this dreadful situation we’re in.

Dad’s getting meaner by the day, yet he doesn’t seem to be suffering in any way. On the other hand, every day my mom, sisters and I feel like God has given up on us. But deep down I know He hasn’t. He acts in time, so we just need to continue hoping in Him.

The things dad said when we were leaving for church had me thinking he’s become the devil incarnate. Worse still, when we came back from church we found he’d locked the door from inside and had left the key in the keyhole. We panicked. I rang the doorbell a couple of times, hoping he would be kind enough to open. But he didn’t.

My small sis tried pushing the key out with another key but she failed. My big sis, who had gone to sit on the steps in anguish, afraid we would stay outside until dad decided to show mercy on us just rose, deciding to try her luck.

After a few attempts she finally managed. I just can’t explain how overjoyed we were. That felt like a major triumph. The possibility that dad might have fallen into deep slumber, given his inebriated state had us terrified. Worst part is my big sis had locked the door herself when she was leaving but dad – in an unnecessary show of might- opened the door and locked it from inside, so that had us reading malice into the whole thing.

When we walked into the house, mom obviously went straight to their bedroom and lo, and behold! Dad was just standing at the window, casually looking outside. Meaning he had seen us walking to the house, and even heard the doorbell ringing, but he chose not to open the door. Where I am right now, I feel like we’re living with the enemy.

Financial dependence is incapacitating. I can only think of one reason why my sisters and I are still living with dad. But where I’m at, I’m so convinced that when I move out I don’t want to remember I have a father. So in my humble opinion, one should run if the relationship they’re in feels dead. There’s no need waiting up to a point where everything just comes crumbling.

2 thoughts on “Red flags? Run, baby run… Part 2

  1. Survivors Blog Here

    Hi my friend
    Things around the house is dangerous for all of you. Being a drunk is not an excuse, everyone has to be accountable for the actions. From previous post it doesn’t sound like your mother has no plans to divorce him for various reason.
    Most children in America don’t have parents to pay for their education or at least not all of. It sounds like the sisters need to move out, rent the best you can split, get part time or any work you can get and pay for school yourself. Graduating will end on a positive instead of the toxic backlash of your father.
    I know you are anxious to graduate by taking your two semesters, you may have to work full time until you can afford to pay. It’s not ideal but your father is toxic and has since we first started talking. Have you talked to the Dean or someone at college to see if there are any options. Any grants or scholarships to help get your degree finished.
    My father sexually abused me, I hated him, after he died and twenty years have passed, I can look at the good and not focus on the bad.I don’t like to say but it’s time for the kids quit parenting. Your mother has issues, I understand. She has to make decisions of her own just as you do. Once you’re no longer under the roof you can’t keep trying to protect your mother and control your dad.
    It’s a sad situation.
    God has a plan, we just don’t know what or why is the answer. What you’ve been doing hasn’t brought an answer, maybe going in a different is what God is guiding you to do.
    Think of you often.
    M

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      Hi M,
      I hope you’ve been doing well… it’s been ages since we last had a relatively lengthy chat. Things have been crazy on this end! But all in all, I would say my family and I are doing ok… (can’t complain much).
      I’m so grateful for the encouragement you give me. Every time I feel discouraged, your words give me strength.
      We’re dealing with issues, one at a time, as they arise and I have faith that all shall be well eventually.
      I hope all is well on your side. Your always in my prayers.
      I send you many warm hugs. ❤ 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment