Close of the Year of the Divine Mercy

divine-mercy

Last Sunday but one marked the close of the year of the Divine Mercy. That sounds weird I know; because God’s mercy is timeless and lasts for all time. However, this year we have been celebrating the year of God’s Divine Mercy. Thinking of what that title alludes to; the hopes and promises… it’s so easy to get discouraged if those prayers don’t come to fruition just yet.

That’s the situation my family and I find ourselves in. We’d hoped this year would somehow bring some relief after all we’ve been through but as this year comes to end what we feel is utter discouragement. Most of the things we had prayed would come to pass didn’t.

In any case things seemed to have gotten worse. For instance, dad’s drinking worsened and he squandered most of the money he had set aside for our school fees. So now we’re always getting in constant arguments with him because of that. Additionally, he completely neglected mom completely so basically the only thing that keeps them together is the marriage certificate.

Since he works out of town, he only comes home when he needs to withdraw a large amount of money from the bank. Normally he will call her to notify he’s coming home but as it is he’ll just take a detour, to some nearby bar and by the time he comes home it will be the next day at dawn, in a drunken stupor. It goes without saying that in that state there can be no civil conversation between him and anyone. When he talks it’s usually annoying because all he does is offend everyone.

Later in the afternoon he’ll wake up and go back to the bar. In all honesty, I cannot remember the last time I saw him eating at home. Mom, as a result of this, has been so stressed lately. If it wasn’t for the fact that I believe marriages are meant to be for keeps –in good times and bad times- I’d suggest she file for divorce and subsequently institute proceedings to get a church annulment.

Whatever little faith I had in matters marriage has completely waned. Now I feel like marriage is just a prison; an institution that one walks in filled with hope but gradually closes in on someone, leaving them constricted and without a way out. Mom’s a prisoner of love, and this year has left me absolutely doubtless that if she had married a different man she would have been very happy. A far-fetched dream from the misery, that is her life.

So now that the year of the Divine Mercy is behind us, I’m almost feeling desperate. Our lives completely denote the saying, that ‘the more things change, the more they remain the same’; even with everything around us changing, the only constant has been problems; which obviously everyone has. But my faith in God keeps reminding me that all hope is not lost because God’s mercy is timeless.

I would imagine there are very many people who are in similar situations; feeling spent because life seems to continue kicking even when someone’s already down. However, there’s one thing I refuse to give up on; hope. So if you’re feeling like my family and I are, don’t give up just yet. There’s hope. I know that because there’s this deep conviction I have that God listens; so if you have been praying and hoping, that big break is in the offing. Believe it…faith the size of a mustard seed can move mountains, remember?

All through, since I became aware of my own existence, I’ve always believed God never disappoints those who hope in Him; and more often than not, He’s proved me right. So today, even if you’re feeling distraught, don’t give up; because tomorrow we’ll be a better day. Why, you ask? Because He lives.

2 thoughts on “Close of the Year of the Divine Mercy

  1. Julia Putzke

    Needed this today. I’ve been in a state of slowing losing hope that there is a bright side to my own family struggles, or that there is a purpose for my life. But I’m still holding that this hope doesn’t disappoint because Romans 5:5 And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.

    May this be true for both of us and our families. Thank you for being so encouraging ❤️

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      Hey Julia, I hope you’ve been well. 🙂 Forgive me for the very delayed reply. I’ve been so tied up with school work, I’m even wondering where the time went because I was really looking forward to Christmas but it’s over before I even got to celebrate it. 😦 But that’s life. Things don’t always go the way we expect them to.
      I hope you’re still holding on to that hope. Don’t let go of it. Personally, I feel hope keeps me going. Without it I would have given up already.
      So no matter how hard things get, just hold on tight. In my opinion, difficult moments make us myopic. And that’s understandable because when you’re not happy you practically realize every minute pass, unlike when you’re happy; time just flies.
      So don’t give up. That’s a fundamental lesson we learn from the Passion of Christ. He never threw in the towel; so as His followers we’re supposed to draw encouragement from His pain and suffering. He triumphed, so we will too. 🙂
      I wish you the Merriest of Christmases and a Happy and Prosperous Year 2017.
      God bless you. 🙂 ❤

      Reply

Leave a Reply

