My brother’s keeper: Part 1

The world is just full of hypocrisy. Every time I look around I just can’t help but wonder what is going on. I know in previous posts I’ve light-heartedly said hell is empty, but what I’m seeing and hearing makes me feel like we’re in hell or something…or in a twilight zone of some sought, where there’s something evil happening in every waking moment.

In my previous post I wrote about this scandal in my church, where two priests have been involved in some really ship-sinking feud; it’s alleged that one of them conspired with some wicked members of the church to besmirch the other’s name, so he would be made head of the church when the other one, who’s the priest in-charge, was banished from the church; if his devious plan went as he had planned.

Pardon me if I can’t seem to stop ranting about that stuff; it’s just that it’s really bugging me. See, I’m being bothered by this issue for the following reasons:

Firstly, the feud has left many dark secrets exposed in its wake; things I never imagined could take place in a church. Allegedly, the priest on the hot seat has been using black magic. That just leaves me wondering how low some people could stoop in an attempt to ruin other people’s lives.

Personally, I’ve interacted with the said priest and I could bet all my money that he’s innocent. However, I can’t say the same for the one accusing him. I’ve always had some suspicions about the way he conducts mass and all and the things he says, so that kinda leaves me wondering if he is accusing the other one of the same things he is guilty of.

Secondly, there are allegations that the priest has sired children with some women in the church. The cherry on top in that heaping bowl of accusations is the fact that the priests’ chef- a woman- has come out saying she’s rolled in the hay with him a couple of times… and therein, lies the problem.

I can’t even start defending him on that one, given that I wouldn’t know the slightest thing about what he does when he’s not in church; plus he’s a man with fully functional hormones and sexual urges like any normal man. Maybe he’s guilty…maybe he’s not.

However, I seem to find an issue with all the women who allege they’ve been involved sexually with the priest. For starters, none of them has insinuated they were taken against their will and none of them is below the age of majority, meaning they’re all consenting adults, who knew what they were getting themselves in; if the allegations are true. If there was the slightest possibility they were assaulted or raped, even I would be crazy to fault them.

From what I gather though, some of them were even fighting for him and he was the one pushing them away. If there’s any truth in that, anyone would say the women didn’t get entangled in those sexual shenanigans under duress. It was all consensual.

The worst of them is the chef, who seems unashamed when she says she’s been under the priest a couple of times. If I must say, I am not oblivious to the fact that in some similar cases, the culprits, after sexually assaulting their victims, try to pin the blame on them, alleging the victims consented or they even threw themselves at them. Therefore, the thought crossed my mind. Nonetheless, these seem to be cases of a few women who couldn’t resist the priest’s charm.

Again, I must emphasize that all these are matters which are being investigated so some of these allegations are yet to be confirmed.

This issue has had me thinking a lot. Generally speaking, husbands cheat on their wives and vice-versa, so why is it such a big deal when a priest sleeps with a woman (men)? Isn’t it hypocritical that the same people who break their marital vows are usually the ones on the front row castigating priests for breaking their vows to be celibate? The way I see it, there’s no greater sinner. In any case it’s the same ole, same ole pot/kettle syndrome.

Moreover, we’re tasked with being our brothers’ keepers. This we learn from the story of Abel and Cain. (Genesis 4:9) When God asked Cain where his brother was, after he’d killed him, he replied, “I don’t know. I’m I supposed to be my brother’s keeper?” We’re discouraged from being like Cain.

It’s our responsibility to keep these men of God on track. Granted, we may not be able to help with everything, but where we can, if we don’t (from a Christian’s perspective) I’m of the opinion God will ask questions.

From Cain’s encounter with God, I’m thinking the conversation will be something like this, “Did you know he was a priest?”

“I did, but he came onto me”.

Then God will ask, “What did you do to stop him? Did you stop visiting his house late in the night? Or did you stop sending him those erotic messages?”

God knows our sins to the tiniest, almost non-existent dirty thoughts in our minds so I’m thinking He will be well prepped for that interrogation; and woe unto us, if all we did was wear low-cut tops in the hope of enticing His servants with voluptuous boobs and those stupefying cleavages, backed up by the come-get-me naughty lip biting…worse still, if we entertained any hanky panky, making them break their vow to be forever celibate.

Leave a Reply

