Don’t worry; Pray instead

pray

Show a gentle attitude toward everyone. The Lord is coming soon. Don’t worry about anything, but in all your prayers ask God for what you need, asking Him with a thankful heart. And God’s peace, which goes beyond human understanding, will keep your hearts and minds safe in union with Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:5-7).

Worrying is essentially a waste of time because we worry about things but then it doesn’t all amount to anything important. Once I heard someone ask, “Do you remember what you were worrying about last year at a time like now?

At the time I tried jogging my mind and I just couldn’t remember what it was I had been worrying about, though I was certain there was something that had been stressing me then. In many of my posts I have mentioned I struggle with anxiety; and even though I try to stay calm all the time, sometimes I feel it overpowers me and I find myself worrying about things that haven’t happened yet.

Earlier today, when I walked into church, I asked God to help me learn something that would guide me through this week. After my short prayer, I looked at the pamphlet with today’s readings, and I smiled when I saw the reading above.

See the thing with anxiety, is that it makes you worry even when you don’t want to. Anyone who has ever suffered from anxiety will tell you it takes so much willpower to fight the negative thoughts, which creep up on someone when they least expect it. It’s like a dark cloud that won’t scud away no matter how you will it to.

We’re told not to judge others because we’re not always privy to what all the people we meet are going through. That means, everyone has one or two issues bugging them; something that prevents them from smiling or enjoying the good things they have, however few. I believe today’s message is not just for me, but for all of us.

We’re asked to pray for our needs instead of worrying about them. It doesn’t matter how complicated the situation feels; or how gigantic the problem seems. God has a solution to all those situations which distress us. All we need to do is take those problems to Him in prayer.

Remember, don’t worry: pray!

Do have the loveliest of weeks ahead.

 

Leave a Reply

