Memoirs of aly (the way I see it) turns one

I year blog's anniversary 2

Last year on a day like today, this site -memoirs of aly (the way I see it) -was born. Before I started this site I had contemplated it for a while, but somehow I was always finding excuses not to. On eighth May last year, deciding that would be the day I would start blogging, I just got on wordpress and signed in. It wasn’t easy finding my way round this vast blogosphere but one year down the line, I feel I’m getting on fine.

I would love to send a heartfelt THANK YOU to all those who find time to stop by. With so many blogs on wordpress alone, I feel honoured that one would spare their time to read my ramblings. THANK YOU again. I acknowledge the fact that a writer becomes relevant because of his/her readers. So what I’m grateful for today-my achievement- is thanks to you; I wouldn’t have the psych to keep on writing if I didn’t have you to read.

I year blog's anniversary

What some of you might not know is that I’ve always loved to write. I’ve always found comfort in writing. Growing up I was somewhat introverted, and I found writing a good way to vent. When I was so happy I would write it all down, just so I wouldn’t forget the beautiful feelings. That’s the beauty of writing; when one reads an article/book/journal entry…the words carry someone to that particular time and if one expresses themselves right, the reader will get the same attitude/mood the writer was in.

This past Sunday in church, the priest said to the congregation, “If you make time for God, He will make time for you. And at His own appointed time, He will act.” He continued, “Those things you’re enjoying today, did you pray for them yesterday?”

While I was reflecting on that, I thought about this blog. Long before I ever thought of starting a blog, I tried to get a writing job. During my search I saw this ad on a newspaper. They needed a contributor for their magazine. Optimistically, I called up the guy who had placed the ad and he asked me to see him the following day.

His office was a bit far from home, so mom took me. The interview went really well and I got the job. Since I was only a contributor, he said I would be getting paid for each article I submitted. I was so thrilled. The fact that I was getting a writing job felt really exciting. Two weeks later I submitted the first articles.

Instead of having me meet him at his office, the guy asked me to meet him up in a hotel. From all the TV I’d watched, I felt something was fishy. Therefore I asked my big sister to accompany me. I gave him three articles on soft copy and while we were having our drinks, my sister and I tried enquiring about the magazine, and some things didn’t feel right. I felt he didn’t sound/appear professional one bit; all my instincts warned me to make for the hills.

After the unusual encounter, I went back home and googled the said magazine but there wasn’t anything about it on the net. The alarm bells in my head were ringing so loud. I couldn’t ignore them. I decided I wouldn’t be taking the job. When I called him later to tell him I couldn’t take the job, I couldn’t reach him. His phone was off. I tried again later but his phone was still off. I didn’t know what to make of that but then I imagined he was a phoney. That’s how I ended up not taking the job; though I doubt there was one to begin with.

I hoped to get my work out there in public but I didn’t know how. Then this blog happened. It was an answered prayer. It might sound funny, but it was. And it didn’t happen overnight. So I figured the priest was right when he asked if the things we’re enjoying today we prayed for yesterday.

This blog is a beautiful milestone. Thank you for your support, for the beautiful awards some of you have bestowed upon me. Words can’t be enough to express the joy in my heart. With this blog I hope to keep my readers inspired/motivated. I pray that with each post I’ll get closer to achieving that goal.

Lots of love,

Aly Georges.

 

14 thoughts on “Memoirs of aly (the way I see it) turns one

  1. Susan Irene Fox

    Aly, congratulations. And good for you and your “fishy” antenna for not taking that “writing job!” Your blog is terrific and a testimony of your dedication and spirit.

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      Thank you so much Susan. You support me so much, encouraging me, giving me so much motivation. I just can’t thank you enough. God bless you abundantly. Hugs. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pebbles

    Happy Birthday Memoirs of Aly (The way I see it), Happy Birthday to you. How old are you now? (ONE) … Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday to you 🙂
    May you have many more… Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday, Happy birthday to you 🙂

    Congratulations Aly, I’m celebrating the blog’s anniversary because through your posts I’ve become more motivated/ inspired, enlightened on so many issues, and much more. I always look forward to reading your posts… I don’t know what I would do without this blog… I’m totally addicted to this blog- your wonderful posts. Thank you and keep up the good work.

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      Thank you Pebbles. I almost shed a few tears there. My hope with this blog is to inspire/motivate everyone who stops by. I’m so happy and inspired that you find this blog uplifting. Thank you so much. I hope to make it worth your while. 🙂 God bless you loads.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

