First station: Jesus is condemned to death

The way of the cross, in my understanding is retracing the steps Jesus went through before His Passion on the cross.

It’s a prayer that has helped strengthen my faith; so now I share with you the prayer by the Vincentian Congregation, that you too may find in it the enlightenment I derive from it.

Opening prayer

Mary, my Mother, you were the first to live the Way of the Cross. You felt every pain and every humiliation. You were unafraid of the ridicule heaped upon you by the crowds. Your eyes were ever on Jesus and His pain. Is that the secret of your miraculous strength? How did your loving heart bear such a burden and such a weight? As you watched Him stumble and fall, were you tortured by the memory of all the yesterdays-His birth, His hidden life and His ministry? You were so desirous of everyone loving Him.

What a heartache it was to see so many hate Him-hate with a diabolical fury. Take my hand as I make this Way of the Cross. Inspire me with thoughts that will make me realize how much He loves me. Give me light to apply each station to my daily life and to remember my neighbour’s needs in this Way of the Pain.

Obtain for me the grace to understand the mystery, the wisdom and the Divine love as I go from scene to scene. Grant that my heart, like yours, may be pierced through by the sight of His sorrow and the misery that I may determine never to offend Him again. What a price He paid to cover my sins, to open the gates of heaven for me and to fill my soul with His own Spirit. Sweet mother, let us travel this way together and grant that the love in my poor heart may give you some slight consolation.

Amen.

The first station- Jesus is condemned to death

1.    The first station: Jesus is condemned to death

Reflection

My Jesus, the world still has You on trial. It keeps asking who You are and why You make the demands You make. It asks over and over the question, if You are God’s Son, why do You permit the world to be in the state it is in? Why are You so silent?

Though the ignorance of the world angers me, I must admit that silently, in the depths of my soul, I too have these questions. Your humility frustrates me and makes me uncomfortable. Your strength before Pilate as You drank deeply from the power of the Father, gives me the answer to my question-The Father’s Will.

The Father permits many sufferings in my life but it is all for my good. If only I too could be silent in the face of worldly prudence, steadfast in the faith when all seems lost, calm when accused unjustly, free from tyranny of human respect, ready to do the Father’s will no matter how difficult.

Prayer

Silent Jesus, give us all the graces we need to stand tall in the face of the ridicule of the world. Give the poor the strength not to succumb to their privation but to be ever aware of their dignity as sons of God. Grant that we might not bend to the crippling disease of worldly glory but be willing to be deprived of all the things rather than lose your friendship. My Jesus, though we are accused daily of being fools, let the vision of quiet dignity standing before monstrous injustice, give us all the courage to be your followers,

Amen.

6 thoughts on “First station: Jesus is condemned to death

  1. Tracesofthesoul

    I used to do the station of the cross the first Friday of the month and sometimes more when I was a child and teenager. I imagined myself right there, in those days and ending with the last station weeping and kissing the foot of the statue of Jesus. That was such a long time ago. Thank you for sharing this post, it does put Lent in perspective. Oliana

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      As a child I didn’t really love doing the stations of the cross but recently I find the prayer really uplifting. I guess it’s because I’m doing it of my own volition, without any pressure from any one. I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Reply
      1. alygeorges Post author

        That was really admirable. Personally I found it long and boring because it was mandatory in the schools I went to and my mom was really strict about church matters. But now I say it and I feel it’s more than just a prayer.

      2. Tracesofthesoul

        Well, in schools they bugged us too but I did not like going with the class and if I did I would hold back; on my own I could weep, talk in my own words…boy, I was pretty religious then I guess..I kept the spiritual part in my life.

Leave a Reply

