It pays to be beautiful?

A beautiful lady can get all she wants? Is that the case really? Some people say a beautiful lady can get everything she wants. If it’s true? Well, you be the judge of that.

When Tyra Banks used to host her talk show, she carried out an experiment to see how people treated women based on their looks. A beautiful woman, used in the social experiment confessed she always got favours from people because she believed she was beautiful. To confirm if she was telling the truth or was just getting good treatment out of the beauty of people’s hearts, Tyra’s make-up team transformed the beautiful swan into an ugly duckling. Apparently even makeup can be used to create unattractiveness.

I watched the show a couple of years back but if my memory serves me right they gave the lady some artificial freckles, buck teeth…whatever the society perceives to be ugly. After the ‘uglifying’ transformation, Tyra sent the same lady out into the street.

Turns out the lady was right. When she dropped some of her stuff ‘accidentally’ on the sidewalk, no guy rushed to help her. Who would care to waste precious time on a buck-toothed lady, with a ‘pancaked’ face (sorry for the choice of word, that’s how a guy I’m friends with on FB describes acned faces)?

The hypothesis being tested was that beautiful people are treated well by the rest of the populace. If it was proven true or false? In my perspective it was proven true. Unfortunately, the world we live in glorifies beauty. It puts so much emphasis on physical beauty. What about inner beauty? If you ask me that’s the real beauty.

After the experiment was conducted, the lady obviously washed her face and went back to being beautiful. I couldn’t help but wonder, what about the one who has buck teeth for real? What about the overweight woman who won’t take the fat suit off and resume their slim selves because they’re naturally big?

Personally, I can relate to the story. See, as I got into puberty during my teens, I got my fair share of acne spots. Tried getting treatment but my doctor said they would fade with time and that if I was overzealous in trying to clear them I could end up damaging my face. I opted to be patient. To be honest, at first I found them unattractive but slowly I got used to them and now I tend to think I would look weird without them as they haven’t cleared completely and I’ve gotten used to them.

I posted a pic on FB, still with the spots, but somehow because the photo was taken at a close range the spots were so visible. A guy I chat with regularly commented, “Are those spots on your face or it’s my screen that’s dirty?” I would be lying if I said the comment didn’t hurt. I took a moment to count backwards, so I wouldn’t give him a rude reply.

“Those are acne spots. And I think I look beautiful even with them. Sometimes I feel I’ll look weird when they clear because I’ve gotten used to them,” was my reply.

The guy, a different one, who posted next commented, “You’re strong lady.” I assumed that was in reference to the reply I gave. He’s my friend, and I presumed he’d realized I hadn’t let the other guy’s comment tear me down.

One thing I’ve always said is that if one feels there’s a part of their body that makes them look less attractive, they should embrace it and think of themselves as beautiful. I noticed that when someone has some doubts about themselves, their self-esteem will be crushed if someone else points out the same thing; with my acne for instance. If I looked at my spots as a defect, by now I would be sinking under tonnes of hurtful comments.

I would wish I didn’t have them, and even though my doctor said they would clear eventually, I still have them. And if I think they make me look less beautiful? Absolutely not. I appreciate how I look in my entirety. That’s how I know beauty comes from within. One has to believe they are beautiful before anyone else tells them. It doesn’t matter if one looks in the mirror and sees things they feel people would criticize. It doesn’t matter if it’s a few pounds one hopes they could just shed off, or a big scar on the face after surviving an accident, or a big forehead, like Tyra’s (still think she looks beautiful regardless), or small boobs, or a flat bum, or if one’s thighs touch, or a crooked nose, or lips that are not particularly full…etc. Whatever it is, think of it as beautiful.

It won’t matter what anyone else thinks if one accepts and loves who they are.

true beauty

What defines ‘beautiful’?

I believe we all have something we wished we could change about ourselves. But truth is, most of the time our perspective on beauty is so skewed. Plus there’s that other fact; beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. What one perceives beautiful might not be beautiful to someone else. All that matters is that one loves themselves.

The society might take ages to realize that everyone’s beautiful in their own right, and that a beautiful personality is what makes a person truly beautiful; but until that day comes (if it ever does), I feel that people should appreciate who they are, with all their flaws.

15 thoughts on “It pays to be beautiful?

  1. Freda Crabbefoot

    What some would call “ugly” I call full of character, history, meaning and life lived. If we all looked the same life would be boring. Brilliant post, my lovey, I shall be keeping a close eye on your future ramblings. Freda x

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      I agree with you Freda; if we all looked the same life would be boring. Thanks for reading and for sharing your opinion.
      Glad you loved my ramblings.Thanks for the follow too; hope to make it worth your while.

      Reply
  2. kalipr

    Beauty is so subjective from culture to culture, person to person, and from time period to time period. American culture currently promotes an unrealistic expectation of beauty (for both sexes, BTW) that only a small fraction of people actually embody…and then it photo shops those images to be even more unrealistic. Sometimes I think I am looking at aliens in the fashion images I see. That said, we humans will always be attracted to symmetry and youth at a fundamental level, because our animal brains equate those features with health, fertility and the propagation of the species. That’s just the hard wiring. I have tried to encourage my children to see past the surface and watch how the personality informs the appearance. It does, you know. Even the least stereo-typically attractive person can have kindness, intelligence and wit that will transform their faces when they share it with you, and confidence can do more than cosmetics to make you a person people are attracted to. Thanks for the post and the conversation!.

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      When all’s said, I believe one’s personality makes them beautiful/ugly. Like you’ve said, even the least stereo-typically attractive person can have kindness, intelligence and wit that will transform their faces when they share it with you.
      Thank you for reading and for sharing your thoughts on the matter.

      Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      If we let others define beauty, we might never feel beautiful because everyone seems to have their own idea of what true beauty really is and in most cases I find those definitions wrong and really biased. If each person accepted themselves for who they are, we wouldn’t have anyone suffering from a low esteem and stuff, and beauty enhancement procedures wouldn’t be so prevalent like they are today.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

