Why My Wife’s Job Is Harder Than Mine

This post is an honour to all stay-at-home-moms; our uncelebrated heroes. AMAZING, AMAZING post!

bowlingwithed

I work at a large, top-200 law firm in one of the ten most populous cities in the country. The hours can be grueling, there are constant deadlines, and the work is mentally demanding.  Any partner in my particular practice area can assign me work, which means I have more than 30 potential bosses.  At any given time, I am working on projects for three to five partners, all of whom believe that their assignment should take priority over any other work.  As a result, there have been many long days (and long nights).

Moreover, being a lawyer at a large firm is a high-stress endeavor.  Even small mistakes can have significant implications and, as a result, tensions can run high.  And of course, because excellence is expected, partners are unlikely to give much positive feedback for a job well done; instead, the reward for good work is more work.

It…

View original post 1,816 more words

2 thoughts on “Why My Wife’s Job Is Harder Than Mine

  1. Kelly

    Although I do like the post, I don’t understand what is “amazing” about it. This has been all been stated over and over before; listing the value of the various tasks a stay at home parent is. Nice tribute, but nothing amazing. I’m confused about why so many people find this post to be so spectacular – have they not read the myriad articles over the last several years that basically contain the exact same substance?

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      Many people have said repeatedly what stay-at-home-moms struggle with everyday of their lives, true; but still there are those who don’t realize that these women need to be appreciated for the work they do. You know why I find this post amazing Kelly? I am not a mom yet, so I haven’t experienced that life first-hand; however, in the early years of my childhood, my mom was a stay-at-home-mom, and even though I was still young I watched people belittle her because all she did was ‘stay home’. My own father mistreated her because she didn’t have her own money, instead of realizing what a huge responsibility it was to take care of three children; to maintain a home.
      As I read the post, I was moved that a man had taken time to write about how hard he feels his wife’s job is, even though all she does is ‘stay home’.
      In short, I find the post ‘Amazing’, because I’ve lived with someone who doesn’t realize being a stay-at-home-mom is actually a job, and I’ve also met people who look down on stay-at-home-moms; our uncelebrated heroes. Just the fact that he took the time to emphasize something that others have also pointed out is simply amazing. His post was his own admission, and that is what counts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

