The last Friday before Christmas

merry christmas

Today’s the last Friday before Christmas. That means Christmas is just a few days away. Yay. Since I was a kid I’ve always loved Christmas. It’s the one season of the year when I feel like everything around me comes to life. One thing I’ve noticed over the years is the fact that Christmas isn’t just a day’s celebration; it shouldn’t just be celebrated on 25th. Christmas is a season. I’m not sure when it starts exactly but I know in my house it starts on my birthday. It’s always been a tradition that we start putting up the decorations a few days before my birthday or latest, a day after.

Since we put up the Christmas decorations I feel like I was bitten by the Christmas bug. Everything just feels Christmassy. Maybe it’s just the good cheer, but my food tastes sweeter, and the cold weather makes the days feel even more beautiful. There’s something about Christmas; I noticed that two years ago. I spent all my days working. Not even music from live bands could do anything to cheer me up. It was horrible. I only got my Christmas break on Christmas Eve and even then it was too little too late. That was the one time in my life I felt like I never celebrated Christmas.

merry christmas 4

I learnt then, that Christmas is about spending time with others, spreading love and good cheer. Without that the beautiful carols will just sound like any ordinary song and all the traditions associated with Christmas will feel meaningless.

This Christmas, reach out to someone in need; spread a little love and the Christmas cheer. Forgive more, laugh more, and just celebrate the birth of our new born King.

merry christmas 3

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

5 thoughts on “The last Friday before Christmas

  1. Hana Telige

    This year, I wasn’t particularly excited about Christmas. I guess because it was my first Christmas out of school, I didn’t quite know what to be excited about. But when I had friends come over and we were all talking and goofing around, I realized that Christmas is about being together and loving on each other. I like the way you worded it though. That’s why I’m nominating you for a Liebster Award. Details here: http://hanatelige.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/liebster-award-nomination/. Hope you participate and looking forward to your answers.

    Reply
    1. alygeorges Post author

      I’m glad you realized Christmas is about spending time with loved ones. In my opinion, nothing beats that. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts. And thank you for the nomination. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

