Creating space

Some months ago I wrote a post, saying how much difficulty I had experienced deleting some texts I’d exchanged with a guy I was seriously into. Well, finally- I’m glad to say- my thumb bowed to the pressure; it finally coordinated with my heart and brain. I took my phone and deleted the whole thread. It’s nothing really, but I feel like a little heroine. For the past year I couldn’t master the courage to let go.  Everytime I decided to delete them I’d go weak, so I’d let them stay for a little longer. The ‘little longer’ graduated to a whole year.

As I mentioned, this week I’m turning a year older and the last time I had a decent conversation with that guy was a year ago, on my birthday when he was wishing me a happy birthday. I figured, if twelve months have gone by without talking, then there’s no point holding on to a relationship that died eons ago.

I’m thinking I found trouble letting go because our relationship-or the semblance of it-didn’t die a sudden death; it was the slow fade kind. We stopped talking every morning, lunch and at night, then everyday and before we realized what was happening, we weren’t talking at all. We only meet on FB, but I don’t take such relationships seriously. We’re just acquaintances on FB, nothing serious.

I almost started reading the texts before deleting them but when I read the last one, then the penultimate one, I started feeling like I was being pulled back into the past. That’s what texts do. They remind one of the exact state they were in when they first received/sent them. Me and him were in a happy place-our very own utopia- when we texted back then; I couldn’t risk getting sucked in, so I decided I wouldn’t read them.

I just scrolled through, without reading them all, and just like that, I hit ‘delete’. For a few minutes, I did feel like a winner; I finally found the strength to let go. Before deciding I wanted to delete them, I remembered this saying, ‘You can clutch the past so tightly to your chest, that it leaves your arms too full to embrace the present.’  I needed to create space. Those texts, as lovely as they were, were only taking up unnecessary space in my life.

This year I’ve had a very boring love life. I’m not even sure it was boring; it just didn’t exist. I’m thinking, either cupid was sleeping on the job, or… I wasn’t playing my part. Then again, how does one chase love? Last I checked, love is like a butterfly; if you chase it, it will keep drifting further and further, but if you give it ‘space’, it will come to you freely. Guess I opted for the latter.

Now I don’t just have free space on my phone memory, but in my life too. The texts went with them, the attachment that hindered me from moving on. Well I guess now, it’s time to focus my gaze on the horizon; limitless possibilities.

9 thoughts on “Creating space

  1. alygeorges Post author

    Thank you for the birthday wishes Ann. 🙂 I do believe now I’m ready for the one. But I’m waiting for God’s chosen time, because He acts in time. God bless you loads. And thank you for being such a delightful friend. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ajaytao2010

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Reply
  3. Kim Saeed

    Aly, you are wise in understanding that you were creating space. It’s the simple Law of Attraction. When we want something in our lives, we do need to create space for it…along with prayer of course. That goes for love and everything else. Best of luck in 2014!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

