Treading into the darkness

I said to the man who stood at the Gate of the Year, “Give me a light, that I may tread safely into the unknown.”

And He replied, “Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the hand of God. That shall be to you better than a light and safer than a known way!”

So I went forth, and finding the hand of God, tread gladly into the night. And He led me towards the hills, and the breaking of day in the lone East.

So, heart, be still; the stretch of years which wind ahead, so dim to our imperfect vision, are clear to God; our fears are premature. In Him all time hath full provision.

I read this piece on a pamphlet I was handed in church; I don’t know who it’s credited to, but I loved it. It touched my soul. Personally, I have been struggling with anxiety all through my life; since I became aware of my existence. It’s something I deal with every day, and I must say I find it difficult.

Walking with Christ

I know we’re asked to take one day at a time, but sometimes it just happens that I find myself worrying about tomorrow, or how Saturday will be… it just happens. I feel really frustrated when I feel anxious about things, even when I will myself not to.

One thing I learned, is that fear and faith can’t exist together; they’re both dominant, so one has to sought of choose between the two; which one they will feed. From experience, I know when I base my trust in God, I don’t feel so anxious (sometimes I don’t even feel anxious at all) because at the back of my mind I know there’s someone greater than me; greater than all my worries, taking care of it all, but then fear /worrying happens without giving one the chance to choose (that’s why I end up feeling frustrated when I worry because I know I shouldn’t).

Reading the insightful words above, I was reminded why I shouldn’t worry about walking into the unknown; treading into the darkness, because God will lead me there.

Leave a Reply

