CELEBRATING THE HOLY TRINITY

Holy Trinity

“Father, You Who sought me;

Son, You Who bought me;

Spirit, You Who taught me…”

This are lyrics to a song I’ve never heard, but my priest said he loves it…and judging by the words I can tell it’s a beautiful song. Just reflecting on the words immerses me in profound tranquility when I feel that deep connection with God, which comes with the realization that He plays a vital role in my life; I am who I am because He lives. The words reassure me of His unconditional love for me.

One of my best verses in the bible is Psalms 139; God knew me long before He put me in my mother’s womb; in His infinite wisdom He knew the days fashioned for me… His thoughts are more than the grains of sand on the vast beaches; they are limitless … His thoughts are different from my own; He knows it all…He even knows the number of hairs on my head…

His Son Jesus died on the cross for me; He paid the price for my sins by giving up his own life on the cross; He saved me from eternal damnation.

The Holy Spirit is the helper sent to us By Jesus…He inspires us. The talents I have, my reasoning, my understanding…all come from Him… When I’m happy, I know He instilled that joy in me; he inspires the virtues I practice. One of my favourite prayers for the Holy Spirit is one which says, “…Lead me to the way of my Father, reveal Jesus my Saviour to me, open my eyes and my heart to the word of God, teach me to pray, help me to love as Jesus loves…” He is indeed my teacher.

Today, 26th May, we celebrate The Holy Trinity- God in three. All through the bible we see instances of God in three Persons: God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit:

During the annunciation of the birth of Jesus in Luke 1:35 The angel Gabriel said to Mary, “The Holy Spirit will come on you, and God’s power will rest upon you. For this reason the Holy Child will be called The Son of God.”

During the ascension of Jesus, in Acts 1:7 Jesus tells His disciples, “The times and occasions are set by My Father’s own authority, and it is not for you to know when they will be. But when The Holy Spirit comes upon you, you will be filled with power…

During Pentecost, in Acts 2:1 The Holy Spirit descended upon the disciples, just as Jesus had promised them; He sent them a helper who would be with them after He went up to heaven-there he would be sitted at the right hand of His Father- so they would never be alone.

The Holy Trinity portrays unity incarnate; The Three Persons in God work together. In the story of Creation, Genesis 1:26 God says, “Let Us make man in Our own image…” He says ‘Us’, referring to God the Son and God the Holy Spirit.

In our earthly lives the unity of three is emphasized in the family setting; a basic family is composed of the father, mother and the child. And looking at the universe, I’m not a scientist but in my understanding, the basic composition is water, land and air…

The Holy Trinity is a mystery… one might ask, we talk about God-HE, how do The Three Beings operate? St. Augustine, one of the greatest minds the church has ever had sought to understand it. He spent thirty years trying to comprehend the Holy Trinity. During that time he wrote fifteen books in an attempt to demystify the Holy Trinity; but none of those books were published.

St. Augustine’s friends, who knew what he was researching on didn’t understand why he would fail to have such great work published, so they ‘stole’ the books… but later, he explained to them that he didn’t publish those books because they were erroneous; his findings were flawed. He never got to understand The Holy Trinity; God in three Persons.

Personally, my basic understanding of The Holy Trinity is based on the information I have gathered over time. I think of It as a tripartite body; composed of three Beings…The three together are God. Think family… we refer to it as a perfect family when there’s the father, mother and children. With one of them missing it feels incomplete…but we (humans) are not perfect, that is why we still manage in the absence of any of the three. God, on the other hand, is perfection embodied; His ways are flawless…

I could sit here all night trying to find the best examples to explain an extremely complex issue, and fact is however much I try I will still end up feeling like I didn’t bring out the point clearly, like I’m feeling now. So I’ll just leave it at that…

God was never meant to be understood. He remains a mystery. He was there before the world came to be; when the world was formless and desolate (Genesis 1). In the bible He is referred to as ‘The Majestic!’ His greatness supersedes all. He is Infinite; our finite minds can’t comprehend such greatness.

In all honesty I can’t say I understand it myself; but I don’t beat myself up about it. My priest feels the same way too. Light-heartedly he asked, “Do you know when we’ll understand it?” Everyone kept mum, afraid of blurting out a wrong answer.

“When we meet Him face to face”, he continued. “That is when we’ll be like, ahh, so this is it!”

We might never get to understand The Holy Trinity in this lifetime, but one thing I’m certain of is that we don’t need to figure it out for us to love Him. He loves us unconditionally; in my view that’s all I/we need to know.

The sign of the cross honours the Holy Trinity: God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit.

 

6 thoughts on “CELEBRATING THE HOLY TRINITY

  1. Pingback: An Unpublished Essay on the Trinity by JONATHAN EDWARDS | ajrogersphilosophy

  2. Pingback: Understanding the Trinity: Having Steak for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

